August 21, 2016 – Upstream

This devotion was for the Upstream service, which had a different scripture and service than the traditional service.

Reading Jeremiah 1:4-10 (NRSV)

Today’s reading may remind us of times when we have been called upon to do something new and challenging. We may be hesitant to try the new task, and protest, saying something like: I am a novice, I’m not ready, I’m too young, I don’t have the right skill set. Perhaps we want everyone to grant us some allowances for any errors made.

Those persuading us might say, “you’ll be fine! I know you can do it. I’ll even tell you what to say.”

My dad would make us laugh at the top of a challenging ski slope: “Just keep shouting while you ski, ‘I’m a beginner!!’

In Jeremiah’s case, God is persuasive. God says that Jeremiah was born ready. All of the skills are there. God even addresses the fear, saying, “I am with you to deliver you.” Then God touches Jeremiah’s mouth and says, “now I have put my words in your mouth.”

God is with us whenever we have some new challenge to undertake for God’s purpose. God even tells us what to say.

When I get scared, I remember my dad shouting, ‘I’m a beginner!!’

And I laugh as I get started on my way.

Let us pray. O, God of comfort, thank you for being with us when we start a new, hard task. You have put your words into us. May we open our mouths and let your words come out as a blessing to others. Amen.

Leave a comment